Skip to main content

22nd February 2021 – The All-Party Parliamentary Group on Dairy welcomes Heather Wheeler MP back as Chair, after a six-year hiatus.

The All-Party Parliamentary Group on Dairy convened for an Extraordinary General Meeting to elect a new Chair, following Scott Mann MP’s appointment as Government Whip and his stepping down from the role.

Having previously served as Dairy APPG Chair back in 2015, Heather is a long-time champion of the British dairy sector, and brings a wealth of dairy knowledge to the Chair.

Commenting on her return to Chairing the APPG, Mrs Wheeler commented: “It’s great to be back and working with the group and my fellow APPG colleagues again after all these years. I’d also like to offer my thanks to Scott Mann for all his work with the APPG over the last three years.

“I’m looking forward to getting stuck into the issues and challenges facing our British dairy farmers and processors and supporting them through the Dairy APPG group within Parliament.”

Reacting to the announcement, Dr Judith Bryans, Chief Executive of Dairy UK said: “I’m delighted that Heather is taking on role of the Chair of the Dairy APPG. Heather’s knowledge and enthusiasm are a great asset for both the Dairy APPG and industry. We look forward to working with the Dairy APPG around the challenges and opportunities the sector faces this year, and beyond.”

Also elected at the Extraordinary General Meeting as Vice-Chairs were: Steve Double MP, Jim Shannon MP, Sir George Howarth MP, Alicia Kearns MP, Lord Cameron of Dillington, Jonathan Edwards MP and Sheryll Murray MP.

Key focus areas for the Dairy APPG agreed at the EGM for the forward year were issues relating to sustainability and the dairy sector, as well as supporting farmers and processors through Covid-19.